Zanzibar is an insular autonomous region of Tanzania. It is composed of the Zanzibar Archipelago in the Indian Ocean, 25–50 kilometres (16–31 mi) off the coast of the mainland, and consists of many small islands and two large ones: Unguja (the main island, referred to informally as Zanzibar) and Pemba Island.

The capital is Zanzibar City, located on the island of Unguja. Its historic centre, Stone Town, is a World Heritage Site.

Spoken Languages

Swahili/Kiswahili, Arabic and English


Temperature will range between 26°C-30°C in October during the conference


US Dollars (US$) 1 = Tanzanian Shilling (TZS) 2326.50*

Time Zone

GMT + 3 hours

Calling code


* Exchange rate is posted for information only and is subject to change without notice. You must contact your bank to get the latest and most accurate information.


All foreign citizens wishing to travel to Zanzibar | Tanzania will need a Visa, except citizens from the following countries who are exempt:

Antigua & BarbudaBruneiCocoas IslandGibraltarJamaicaMalaysiaNiue IslandSamoaSt. VicentTonga
AnguillaBritish Virgin IslandCook IslandGrenadaJerseyMadagascarNorfolk IslandSeychellesSt. HelanaTuvalu
Ashmore & Certie IslandBritish Indian Ocean TerritoryChristmas IslandGuernseyKenyaMaltaNamibiaSingaporeSouth AfricaVanuatu
BahamasBotswanaDominicaGuyanaKiribatiMauritiusPapua new GuineaSwazilandSouth SudanUganda
BarbadosCyprusFalkland IslandHeard IslandLesothoMacaoRwandaSolomon IslandTrinidad & TobagoZambia
BermudaCayman IslandGambiaHong KongMalawiMozambiqueRomaniaSt. Kitts&NavisTurks & CaicosZimbabwe
BelizeChannel IslandGhanaIsle of manMontserratNauruRoss DependencySt. LuciaTokelan 

Foreign nationals wishing to travel to Zanzibar | Tanzania are required to possess a valid passport of their country and a valid Zanzibar| Tanzania eVisa. You can get your Zanzibar | Tanzania eVisa fast and simple without having to send your passport to the Zanzibar | Tanzania Embassy.

Please email us at if you require an invitation letter.

NOTE: Passport holders of the following countries are NOT ELIGIBLE for eVisa. These countries require special clearance from the Commissioner General of Immigration or the Commissioner of Immigration (Zanzibar) prior to issuance of the Visa.

Referral visas for IAOM MEA delegates can be guaranteed. However, please make sure to contact us at least six weeks before the conference to be able to process the visa.

Please email us at for any further queries.

AfghanistanEthiopiaKazakhstan RepublicNigerSomaliaTurkmenistan
AzerbaijanEritreaKyrgyzstan RepublicPalestineSri LankaUzbekistan
BangladeshEquatorial GuineaLebanonSenegalSomali landYemen
ChadNigeriaMaliIraqSierra LeoneSyria
DjiboutiPakistanMauritaniaIranTajikistanStateless persons or persons with refugee status

For more info on visas, please click here.


Abeid Amani Karume International Airport is the main airport in the Zanzibar Archipelago located on Unguja Island. It is approximately 5 kilometres south of Zanzibar City, the capital of Zanzibar, and has flights to East Africa, Europe, and the Middle East.